Conversations with Creative Souls

a gumbootspearlz creation

The Paradox of the Authentic Self

This is a blog from Owen Allen

Owen's Meanderings

Much is mentioned about our authentic self as, like, we have to know what it is and be true to it.

I worry that I don’t know what mine is and so I’m sure I can’t possibly be true to it.

But, because it seems that a lot of people think it is important, I keep trying to understand what it is. However, pretty much at a stand still on the issue, I decided to make an enquiry into the possibility that an authentic self doesn’t exist. With that enquiry in mind, I found myself getting down to the tin tacs of the issue.

So, finally, my conclusion is that, yes, there is an authentic self, and no, there isn’t.

How did I get to this?

Well, perhaps it is because I like the idea of fuzzy logic, that things can either exist, not exist, exist and not exist (as…

View original post 1,103 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 17, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
